Noor Student Competition- in recognition of Prof. Omar Yaghi

Mustafa(pbuh) Science and Technology Foundation (MSTF) holds the 4th round of Noor Student Competition; in recognition of Prof. Omar Yaghi on August 2019, among students, educational and research centers, with the goal of “producing 60-second scientific videos”.

Execution of the competition and its technical and scientific supporting are responsibility of “Fanamouz” Corporation.

The subject of the competition:

Conducting experiments in various fields of Materials and Energy

Scientific guide: As previous rounds, over 100 videos will be uploaded in scientific area of the competitions


• Granting valuable prizes to 100 selected works
• Appreciation of selected schools and research centers which have had active and effective participation

Submission deadline: 19 February, 2020

To registration and participation in the competition, organize 2- or 3-member groups and then click on “registration” icon in home page
Judging criteria and competition rules are accessible in main menu

Prof. Omar Yaghi’s biography:

The 2015 Mustafa(pbuh) prize - the top science and technology award of Islam world- in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology has been granted to Prof. Omar Yaghi, for “extensive research in the field of MOFs and clean energy”.

Prof. Omar M. Yaghi is a Jordanian-American scientist who was born in Amman, Jordan in 1965. He received his B.S. degree in Chemistry from State University of New York-Albany (1985), and Ph.D. from the University of Illinois-Urbana (1990) with Professor Walter G. Klemperer. He was an NSF Postdoctoral Fellow at Harvard University (1990-92) with Professor Richard H. Holm. He has been on the faculties of Arizona State University (1992-98), University of Michigan (1999-2006), and UCLA (2007-2011). He is currently the James and Neeltje Tretter Chair Professor of Chemistry at UC Berkeley, and a Senior Faculty Scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

Prof. Yaghi has received numerous awards, for his outstanding contributions in designing and production of classes of compounds. His early accomplishments in the design and synthesis of new materials have been honored by the Solid-State Chemistry Award of the American Chemical Society and Exxon Co. (1998) and the Sacconi Medal of the Italian Chemical Society (2004). His work on hydrogen storage was recognized by Popular Science Magazine which listed him among the ‘Brilliant 10’ scientists and engineers in USA (2006), and the US Department of Energy Hydrogen Program Award for outstanding contributions to hydrogen storage (2007). He was the sole recipient of the Materials Research Society Medal for pioneering work in the theory, design, synthesis and applications of metal-organic frameworks and the AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize for the best paper published in Science (2007). He is also the recipient of the American Chemical Society Chemistry of Materials Award (2009), Izatt-Christensen International Award (2009), United Kingdom’s Royal Society of Chemistry Centenary Prize (2010), China Nano Award (2013), King Faisal International Prize in Science (2015). He holds over 10 distinguished professorships from universities in China, South Korea, Vietnam, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates. Prof. Yaghi published over 200 articles, which have received an average of over 300 citations per paper. He is among the top five most highly cited chemists worldwide.

The winners of Noor competition

First name Last name Country city